Featured Artist:


Website | Twitter | Instagram

We are honored to have INVSN be our Featured Artist this month! Learn all about them and make them your new favorite band.

Dennis Lyxzen - Vocals/Guitar
Sara Almgren - Bass/Vocals
Anders Stenberg - Guitar/Keyboards
Richard Osterman - Guitar/Keyboards
Andre Sandstrom - Drums/Percussion

INVSN (pronounced "invasion") was birthed from the subcultural landscape, imbued with the passionate spirit of hardcore-punk and emboldened by the rich history of rock n' roll. The Swedish band released a couple of records in their native tongue, under the name Invasionen, before deciding to "invade" the rest of the world with their English language debut. This embryonic period allowed them to steadily develop a sound that delivers subversively deliberate pop through a post-punk lens. INVSN's Invsn embodies elements of Joy Division, Echo & The Bunnymen, lesser known seminal UK band The Sound, early outings from The Cure and modern acts like The XX and Soft Moon, all through the prism of people who loved Black Flag growing up. It's no wonder the band have managed to create something refreshingly new from classic elements of the past: members of INVSN spent time in the tirelessly revered Refused, garage revivalists The (International) Noise Conspiracy and thrashers D.S.-13.

The record was created at Stockholm's Studio Ingrid (formerly Polar Studios), with mixing duties handled by English album producer Nick Launay, whose distinguished credits include INVSN reference points like Public Image Ltd., Nick Cave, Siouxsie and the Banshees and The Church. Launay shares mixing credit with Danish producer Jacob Hansen, who has worked with Volbeat since their early demo days.

The transcendent, atmospheric and consistently engaging songs on INVSN's self-titled debut recall the strongest elements of '70's psych and '80s New Wave, with hints of each decade that followed and a forward-thinking vision of the future. The end result is a sound that is at once both timeless and nostalgic. The world doesn't even realize how ready it is for this album. And that's OK. This group of musicians is used to being ahead of their time; they don't plan it that way, they just can't help it.

The creative impulses that have driven the members of INVSN since they began playing music have carried each of them aloft like a mythical muse, often forsaking careerism for the sake of authentic realism. By the time the world realized that frontman Dennis Lyxz'n's former band, Refused, had defined a generation, they were gone. In the wake of Refused's three-album career, a multitude of bands traded on much of their innovative sound, attitude and image to gain fame and fortune.

When The Shape of Punk to Come was reissued more than a decade after its initial release, Pitchfork raved about its power and unique mystique. Rock Sound gave it a 10/10. Kerrang! had already put it in their 50 Most Influential Albums of All Time. But when people were catching up to Refused after their split, Lyxz'n had moved on, fronting garage rock obsessed art-rock provocateurs The (International) Noise Conspiracy. Rick Rubin, whose resume contains no shortage of icons and innovators, produced (I)NC.'s last two albums and released them through American Recordings. (I)NC. wore their progressive politics on their proverbial sleeves, paving the way for a so-called Return of Rock that resulted in huge commercial success for other bands.

After a 12 year run, (I)NC. took a break that became an extended hiatus. Lyxz'n played in the power-pop group The Lost Patrol Band. Lyxz'n and his friends remain one step ahead, with the stars about to align for the first time between inception and acceptance through INVSN. The members of INVSN came together organically, a group of friends determined to make the type of music they themselves wanted to hear.